INDIANAPOLIS (Nov. 17, 2022)Indiana Destination Development Corporation Secretary and CEO Elaine Bedel accepted the 2022 Indiana Chamber Bayh-Lugar Government Leader Award yesterday at the Indiana Chamber’s 33rd Annual Awards Dinner.

The Bayh-Lugar Government Leader Award honors state officials leading the charge in bolstering Indiana's interests in new and innovative ways. Bedel was selected for her efforts to attract and retain workforce talent in Indiana and support tourism to the state through the "IN Indiana" campaign, which launched in June this year.

"When I first joined the public sector, I could have never expected where this journey would take me and I am so honored to be recognized for the progress we've made as a state and the good we are doing for communities large and small," Bedel said. "Indiana is truly the best state to be in right now. I will forever be grateful for the opportunity to create and lead the new Indiana Destination Development Corporation as we work to raise the perception of Indiana across the globe and showcase the Hoosier story."

After starting and running Bedel Financial, a wealth management firm, for thirty-plus years, Bedel was tapped by then Governor-Elect Eric Holcomb to join his team and jumped headfirst into the public sector in February 2017. Bedel joined IDDC in 2019 as the organization's first Secretary and CEO after previously serving as president of the Indiana Economic Development Corporation.

Click here to download Bedel's headshot and photos from the award presentation.


About IDDC/Visit Indiana: House Enrolled Act 1115 established the Indiana Destination Development Corporation (IDDC) to position Indiana as the best place to live, work, play, study and stay. IDDC operates as a public-private agency and is governed by a seven-member board. Members include Governor Eric Holcomb who has appointed the Lt. Governor Suzanne Crouch as his designee, the president of the IEDC or designee, and five governor-appointed members from the private sector. Elaine Bedel serves as Secretary & CEO.